

Collegiate Alumni Association Inaugural Meeting Minutes September 14, 2022 In-Person & Zoom

Members in Attendance (In-Person)

Marjory Coleman (58); Jim MacDonald (64); Erin Goldberg (05); Patricia Katz (03); Lisa Shewchook (91); Katherine Sengmany (21); Adam Williams (17); Bob Stuebing (65); Stacey Katz (05); Joshua Hood (17); Alison August (96).

Members in Attendance (Zoom)

Dinah Goldenberg (79); Mahmud Hassain (86); Willow Krauchi; (95) Dev Sharma (20).

Guests (in-person):

Elena Anciro (Collegiate Engagement Officer); Kevin Clace (Dean of the Collegiate); Burkhart Faller; Jennifer Janzen; Fatima Sherefa, Eileen Stuebing; Javier Schwersensky (President of the University of Winnipeg Foundation).

Procedural

Bob Stuebing, Chair of the Collegiate Advisory Committee, a group established by The University of Winnipeg Foundation to improve the profile of The Collegiate and create an active alumni association, acted as Chair of the Association's inaugural meeting.

Mr. Stuebing referred to the notice and quorum provisions in the draft Bylaw # 1. As this is the inaugural meeting of the Association, there are no guidelines in effect for notice and quorum, but he advised that, to move forward with this meeting, the provisions in the draft Bylaw # 1 would be used. The draft bylaw requires 21 days notice. Formal notice was delivered by email on August 24, 2022 and prior notice was given on August 11, 2022. The draft bylaw stipulates that five alumni members are required for a quorum. Mr. Stuebing advised that 15 alumni in total are in attendance both in-person and online.

As notice was given and a quorum is present, Mr. Stuebing declared the meeting to be properly constituted for the conduct of business, and called the meeting to order at 5:35 p.m. CDT.

Welcome and Introductions

Mr. Stuebing welcomed all the alumni present both in person and on-line by Zoom to the inaugural meeting of The University of Winnipeg Collegiate Alumni Association. He also welcomed all the guests and introduced Kevin Clace, Dean of the Collegiate, Javier Schwersensky, President of the University of Winnipeg Foundation, and Elena Anciro, Collegiate Engagement Officer with the Foundation. He specifically noted the support of Dean Clace and of the Foundation in creating the Collegiate Advisory Committee and the excellent work by Elena Anciro, which support and work were fundamental to the creation of the Collegiate Alumni Association.

Bylaw #1

Mr. Stuebing discussed the work of the Collegiate Advisory Committee over the past nine months and specifically the determination by the Committee to form and Alumni Association for the University of Winnipeg Collegiate Alumni, the purpose of which would be to promote the elationship between the alumni and The Collegiate and to coalesce the alumni in a formal organization. The Committee sought legal advice for the structure and constating documents. The advice obtained was to incorporate a non-share corporation that would operate on a not for profit basis. The constating document would be Bylaw #1 which was drafted by legal counsel.

One Member (L. Shewchook) questioned the establishment of the association as a corporate entity. Mr. Stuebing advised that establishing the Association as a corporate entity was a necessity to create a legal entity separate and distinct from the Members to insure continuity and for transacting business. After further discussion, the objecting Member maintained her objection.

Mr. Stuebing advised that the objection would be noted in the minutes and called for a motion.

It was moved by S. Katz and seconded by J. Hood that Bylaw #1 in the form delivered to the alumni on August 24, 2022 be approved. Mr. Stuebing called for a vote and the motion adopting Bylaw #1 was approved with only one negative vote.

Election of the Board of Directors

Mr. Stuebing advised that the Bylaw provides that the Board of Directors will be composed of five Voting Directors elected by the Members of the Association and four appointed Non-Voting Directors. The appointed Non-Voting Directors are:

1. The Dean of The Collegiate (Kevin Clace)

- 2. A representative of the University of Winnipeg Foundation (Javier Schwersensky)
- 3. A member of the faculty of the Collegiate (Jennifer Janzen)
- 4. A current grade 12 student/future alumni (Fatima Sherefa). There will also be a grade 11 student appointed as an alternate Non-Voting Director who would progress to the grade 12 appointment.

Mr. Stuebing noted that all four of the appointed Non-Voting Directors had participated on the Collegiate Advisory Committee.

Mr. Stuebing advised that the nominees for Voting Directors as determined by the Collegiate Advisory Committee are:

- 1. Alison August (1996)
- 2. Joshua Hood (2017)
- 3. Stacey Katz (2005)
- 4. Devyansh Sharma (2020)
- 5. Bob Stuebing (1965)

Bylaw #1 provides for rotational elections. This election will be three Voting Directors serving for a one-year term and two Directors serving for a two year term. At subsequent annual general meetings, the Members will elect two or three Directors consistent with the expiring terms in order to have continuity on the Board. It was also noted that, in subsequent years, the Association may have more nominees than positions, but since it is the formative year of the Association, there are only five nominees for the five positions.

It was moved by J. MacDonald and Seconded by P. Katz that Devyansh Sharma, Alison August and Joshua Hood be elected as Voting Directors for a term of one year, and that Bob Stuebing and Stacey Katz be elected as Voting Directors for a term of two years. As there were no other nominees, Mr. Stuebing declared the nominees were elected by acclamation.

Other Business and Termination

As there was no other business, Mr. Stuebing declared the meeting adjourned at 5:58 pm CDT